Difference between SSC CGL AND SSC CHSL Careerwill ssc cgl careerwill app ssc cgl ssc chsl

Difference between SSC CGL and SSC CHSL – which to choose and why ?

The SSC exam is a key player in hiring applicant for crucial positions in various government agencies and ministries for government jobs in India. SSC exams stand for Staff Selection Commission; held two The Combined Graduate Level (CGL) and Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) examinations are two of the most well-liked tests offered by SSC. Now let enlightens some difference on SSC CGL and SSC CHSL to understand the basic and key difference between the two:

Checkout : CTET Exam Pattern 2023 for Paper 1 & 2, Negative Marking

⦁ Educational Qualification For SSC CGL & SSC CHSL

The primary distinction between SSC CGL and SSC CHSL is in the level of education needed to qualify for each exam:

SSC CGL: As the name implies, students must have graduated from an accredited university in order to sit for the Combined Graduate Level exam. The majority of positions under CGL require a bachelor’s degree as the minimum educational requirement.

SSC CHSL, on the other hand, is intended for those who have successfully finished their 10+2 or upper secondary education from a recognized board. Consequently, students who passed their 12th-grade exams may apply for CHSL.

⦁ Age Limit For SSC CGL & SSC CHSL

The following applies to both the SSC CGL and SSC CHSL age requirements:

SSC CGL: Depending on the specific positions, the age requirement for SSC CGL varies, but is often set between 18 and 32 years. On the basis of governmental standards, some categories might acquire age relaxations.

SSC CHSL: Like SSC CGL, the age requirement for SSC CHSL is typically between 18 and 27 years of age, with age exceptions for candidates from restricted categories.

⦁ Exam Pattern For SSC CGL & SSC CHSL

The SSC CGL and SSC CHSL examinations are also divided into several tiers. Both the number of tiers and the format of the tests vary greatly:

SSC CGL: There are four tiers to the SSC CGL test, and they are as follows:

Tier I: Multiple-choice questions (MCQs) on topics like general intelligence and reasoning, general awareness, quantitative aptitude, and English comprehension make up Tier I, the first level of the exam.

Tier II: The second tier is also a written exam, but it concentrates on certain areas and covers subjects like English Language & Comprehension and Quantitative Abilities.

Tier III: In this level, candidates’ descriptive writing abilities in Hindi or English are assessed. It could involve writing essays, letters, applications, etc.

Tier IV: Depending on the position, the fourth and final tier is a skill test or computer competence test.

SCHL SSC: In contrast, the SSC CHSL test consists of three levels:

Tier I: Comparable to SSC CGL Tier I, this tier also includes multiple-choice questions (MCQs) on English language, quantitative aptitude, general awareness, and intelligence.

Tier II: A descriptive paper in Hindi or English that evaluates candidates’ writing abilities makes up the second tier.

Tier III: Depending on the position applied for, this tier consists of a skill test or a typing exam.

⦁ Pay Structure/ Salary

The 7th Pay Commission establishes the remuneration structure for SSC CGL and SSC CHSL positions, which is broken down into various pay bands based on the grade pay awarded to each post.

SSC CGL: The grade pay for SSC CGL ranges from Rs 2400 to Rs 4800. The post they are chosen for and the related pay level influence the applicants’ salaries who are chosen through SSC CGL. Employees are eligible to a number of perks in addition to their base salary, such as House Rent Allowance (HRA), Dearness Allowance (DA), Travel Allowance (TA), and more.

Level 4: 25,500 to 81,100 rupees
Level 5: 29,200 to 92,300 rupees
Level 6: 35,400 to 1,12,400 rupees
Level 7: 44,900 to 1,42,400 rupees
Level 8: 47,600 to 1,51,100 rupees
Level 9: 53,100 to 1,67,800 rupees

SSC CSHL: The grade pay for SSC CSHL ranges from Rs 1900 to Rs 2400. The remuneration of candidates chosen through SSC CHSL is based on the position they are chosen for and the pay level assigned to it in the pay matrix. Employees chosen through SSC CHSL have the same benefits and allowances as those chosen through SSC CGL, such as HRA, DA, TA, and others.

Level 1: 18,000 to 56,900 rupees
Level 2: From 19,900 to 63,200 rupees
Level 3: From 21,700 to 69,100 rupees
Level 4: 25,500 to 81,100 rupees

From the above defined level it can be defined that SSC CHSL are comparatively covering starting level and moving to SSC CGL.

⦁ Job Profile

A variety of job opportunities are available through SSC CGL and SSC CHSL in numerous government agencies and ministries. However, there may be substantial differences in the job descriptions and responsibilities between the two exams:

SSC CGL: Those who pass the SSC CGL exam are eligible to apply for prominent positions like Assistant Section Officer, Income Tax Inspector, Assistant Audit Officer, and Central Excise Inspector, among others. Due to the higher educational requirements, these roles frequently have greater responsibility and are more sought-after.

SSC CHSL: Lower Division Clerk (LDC), Data Entry Operator (DEO), Postal Assistant, and Sorting Assistant are some of the job profiles that are available. These jobs nonetheless provide work security and opportunities for advancement despite being commonly seen as being at a lower level in the government structure.

Candidates preparing for any of the two exams should be aware that the SSC CGL posts have a higher classification than the SSC CHSL posts. But as positions rise, so do the stakes in the job market and the quantity of applicants.

In conclusion, SSC CGL and SSC CHSL are prominent government job exams that accept applicants with a range of educational backgrounds and career goals. While SSC CHSL is intended for applicants who have completed the 12th grade and offers prospects for lower-level government posts, SSC CGL demands a graduate degree and opens doors to higher-level job profiles. To choose wisely between the two examinations, prospective candidates must carefully consider their educational background, interests, and job ambitions. Both exams can be aced with careful planning and concentration, enabling students realize their goals of landing a lucrative government employment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *